Theresa May Resign Announcement Begins New UK Prime Minister Race

After UK Prime Minister Theresa May’s announcement that she will be resigning coming month, race for the next Conservative Party leader has begun in United Kingdom.

However, Party chiefs is expecting to choose new leader by the end of July, while Mrs. May has confirmed on Friday her step down as party leader on 7 June, but she will carry on as PM until the leadership contest occurs.

The 76th Prime Minister of the United Kingdom has agreed with chairman of the Tory backbench 1922 Committee, Sir Graham Brady, that the process can be started to elect a new leader for the nation week after she leaves her post.

Four candidates have confirmed for next UK Prime Minister as Foreign Secretary Jeremy Hunt, Former Foreign Secretary Boris Johnson, International Development Secretary Rory Stewart, and Former Work and Pensions Secretary Esther McVey.

On another side, over a dozen more are expected to be actually considering running as well as Sir Graham, who left as chair of the 1922 Committee.

Amber Rudd, who is Work and Pensions Secretary, believed herself for eligible for this post, told the Daily Telegraph like this, “I don’t think it is my time at the moment.”

She has expressed his intention to work with Mr. Johnson in the future, described, “I have worked with him before… we were able to work together.”

Environment Secretary Michael Gove may be another possible candidate, on Friday cried off to say whether he would stand, said it was “the prime minister’s day”.

By considering the current scenario, Mr. Johnson is being appeared most favorite of majority bookmakers as compared to former Brexit Secretary Dominic Raab and Mr. Gove.

According to latest reports, Tory MPs have until the week commencing 10 June to show off their name and any of them can stand, on condition that they have the backing of two parliamentary colleagues.

The candidates will be reduced until two contestants and all party members will be casting their votes for next United Kingdom Prime Minister.